How Google Photos works with Google Drive

Sync photos and videos

How to free up Google Drive space
I just saw the same issue. If there are no Photos in the device folders, they were all deleted either by being sent to trash in which case they were not backed up, or they were backed up and deleted by the Delete Device Copy or Free Up Space tools. Are you a Googler and want verified flair? Your solution will work if you have fewer photos, but in my case it's not working. PicBackMan automates the process of uploading pictures to multiple photo storage sites. Content Guidelines Please focus on community-oriented content, such as news and discussions, instead of individual-oriented content, such as questions and help.

Share your voice

Delete photos and videos

Also you can go to the most "zoomed out" view month view and do that as it would be easier and faster. I guess this functionality is not available on the web client yet, I would have tough it would be. On the other hand on desktop it is fairly easy to select all photos anyway with a only a bit of scrolling unlike how it is on mobile where you have a 6 inch screen: Probably this was the reason for not including view changing on web.

If you do this, won't it also delete photo from your native phone album? IE the iOS photos albums? I just saw the same issue. I also needed to empty the trash bin Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our User Agreement and Privacy Policy.

Log in or sign up in seconds. Submit a new link. Submit a new text post. Content Guidelines Please focus on community-oriented content, such as news and discussions, instead of individual-oriented content, such as questions and help.

Rules 1 Follow sitewide rules 2 Use Reddiquette aka don't be a dick. Welcome to Reddit, the front page of the internet. Become a Redditor and subscribe to one of thousands of communities. Want to add to the discussion?

Nothing else on this thread worked. If the device photos all have backup copies in Google Photos, it is now safe to delete the device copy from your phone. To see only the photos that are actually on the device the Device Photos: Start Google Photos and tap the menu button in the top left to get the menu In the menu, tap on "Device Folders" You will see the Camera folder and any other folders containing photos that are being watched by Google Photos.

If there are no Photos in the device folders, they were all deleted either by being sent to trash in which case they were not backed up, or they were backed up and deleted by the Delete Device Copy or Free Up Space tools. In Device Folders you can select photos and go to the 3-dot menu in the upper right. In that menu you can select "Back up now" to back up any selected photos that haven't been synced, or you can select "Delete device copy" to delete the device copy if it has been synced.

Another way to see only the photos that are on the device is by using the Gallery App on the device, because it will only show photos that are on the device. Note that Gallery does not indicate whether a device photo has been backed up, so deleting a device photo using Gallery will delete the photo even if it is not backed up.

If you want to delete the photos from the phone but leave them on Google Photos, Google has built in a function called "Delete Device Phone Copy that "un-syncs" the phone copy from the Google Photos copy, then deletes only the phone copy of the photo. You can do that as follows: Delete selected device copy photos from the device in the photos menu. This method will delete the selected Device Photos and will prevent your backup photo from being deleted.

Open the Google Photos app on your mobile device. Select one or more photos that are on the device. At the top right, tap on the "3 dots" menu icon.

The photos selected will be deleted from your phone, but the GP photo will stay. Delete selected device copy photos from the device in the Device Folders. This works only on Android devices. O nly Device Folder photos are visible. At the top left, tap Menu. The photos selected will be deleted from your phone, but the Google Photos photo will remain.

Before you get started

Photos and videos you delete are also removed from: wow-cataclysm-guides.tk and any synced devices; Google Photos albums; Google Photos movies when you edit them. Learn more about deleted photos in movies. Google Drive, for photos and videos that are synced with Google Drive. Learn how Google Drive works with Google Photos. If you don’t want to sync it in Google Drive, either uncheck the “show as a folder in Drive” from the Google Photos settings - or change you Google Drive app setting to not sync that directory to your local machine. Aug 24,  · I've deleted all my photos from within Google Drive, emptied the trash, from within Google Photos (selecting or so at a time - tedious), emptying the trash there, and I STILL have GB of mysterious photos taking up my Google Drive space.